ASHRAE TECHNOLOGY AWARDS 2021 – Call for Nominations!


ASHRAE TECHNOLOGY AWARDS 2021 – Call for Nominations!

Read More ▶

ASHRAE TECHNOLOGY AWARDS 2021 – Call for Nominations!

Posted by mreynau on Mar. 16, 2021  /   0

ASHRAE Golden Gate Chapter Technology Transfer Committee (CTTC) is now accepting nominations for 2021 Technology Awards. It has been a long-treasured tradition for Bay Area MEP firms to put out a stellar group of energy efficient building designs every year. This year we are expecting nothing lesser and look forward to seeing some of the most versatile buildings out there right now!

“The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building design in the areas of occupant comfort, indoor air quality and energy conservation. Their designs incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and IAQ. Performance is proven through one year’s actual, verifiable operating data (as of September 1st, 2021 for this year’s society level entries).”

Thus, all projects occupied in October 2020 or prior are eligible. If at the time of submission for the Chapter awards a full year of M&V data is not available, modeled EUI can be submitted for consideration instead.

The deadline for award nominations is April 15th. Winners from the Chapter level will go on to compete at the Regional level (Region X) and if qualified, ultimately to Society level to compete with global entries.

Application form with details on submission can be found here. The buildings can be in any of the six (6) categories – Commercial, Institutional, Health Care, Industrial, Public and Residential.

Judging will be based on the following criteria – 

Energy Efficiency                                           15 points

Indoor Air Quality & Thermal Comfort           15 points

Innovation                                                       15 points

Operation & Maintenance                               15 points

Cost Effectiveness                                         15 points

Environmental Impact                                    15 points

Quality of Presentation                                   5 points          

Judge’s Prerogative                                        5 points

More information on the criteria, sample entries and Frequently Asked Questions can be accessed at this link here.

This year for the Judge’s Prerogative (5 points) the criteria is Inclusion & Diversity (I&D). Did you have a creative and diverse team that took the project to successful completion? We want to hear about it!

Note: Submission by the project Engineer of Record (EOR) is not a prerequisite. 

Per the ASHRAE guidelines, 

The entrant (1) must be a member (any grade) of ASHRAE, (2) must have a significant role in the project, and (3) must be willing to supply any additional information if requested by the judging panel.

For any questions regarding the awards submissions, please reach out to Manalee at [email protected] or Blaine at [email protected].

Return to list



    Leave a Comment